While my guitar gently weeps, back in Philly

29May10

I borrowed a friend’s guitar tonight for a little impromptu campfire singalong, and realized how much I missed playing guitar.

It’s been less than a week, that I’ve been out of Philly and home visiting my family, but that’s definitely enough time for me to yearn for some acoustic strumming. I sort of left the city on a whim, not knowing for how many days I’d be home. I knew I should have brought the guitar, but I didn’t, for whatever reason. I convinced myself I needed a break from playing music.

I’ve tried to convince myself of that other times, and it just doesn’t seem to work. It’s amazing to me, the role guitar playing, songwriting and performing have taken on in my life, since they’ve arrived in it. I can’t do without them anymore, no matter how hard I try.

Chances are, one of the first things I’ll do when I get back to my apartment in Philly sometime over the next few days will be to pick up my guitar and start playing. I’m just not myself without it.

No Responses Yet to “While my guitar gently weeps, back in Philly”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

